EEA and Norwegian Financial Mechanisms

The EEA Financial Mechanism and the Norwegian Financial Mechanism represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to reducing economic and social disparities and to strengthening bilateral relations with 15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics.

For the period 2014-2021, EUR 2.8 billion has been set aside under the Financial Mechanisms. The EEA Financial Mechanism (EUR 1.5 billion) are jointly financed by all three donors and available in all 15 countries. The Norwegian Financial Mechanism (EUR 1.3 billion) are financed solely by Norway and available in the 13 countries that joined the EU after 2003. During this period, Republic of Croatia is entitled to EUR 103,4 million.

The available funds are intended for programmes in following priority areas:

  • Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness
  • Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction
  • Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy
  • Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance, and Fundamental Rights and Freedoms
  • Justice and Home Affairs

Main objective of the Civil Society Programme, funded through the EEA Financial Mechanism, is to strengthen civil society and active citizenship, and to empower vulnerable groups and it is implemented through Active Citizens Fund in 15 beneficiary countries.

In the period of 2014–2021 special emphasis of the ACF is put on long-term sustainable development and capacity building of NGO sector. Enabling that, ACF programme aims at strengthening the role of NGOs in promotion of democratic governance of the country, inclusion of public in decision-making processes on national and local level, and strengthening human rights. An important priority of the Programme is also strengthening cooperation between civil society organisations in beneficiary countries and organisations from donor countries – Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Programme Operator is Bruxelles based Financial Mechanism Office (FMO) while in each of 15 beneficiary countries, the Fund is managed by operators which are independent of local, regional and central government, political parties and religious institution.

More on EEA Financial Mechanisms is available at

Povečanje slova